Back to the Zimmerman-Martin Case, Again!

My recent June 2nd post on the case regarding the shooting of a black teenager, Trevyon Martin, by a white man, George Zimmerman,  corrected things I said in a first post.  What I was largely correcting was what I picked up from left-leaning coverage.  I now need to correct what I picked up from the more libertarian and small government conservative coverage!

In the last post I said it was inaccurate to bring ‘stand your ground’ into the Zimmerman-Martin case.  That is the ‘stand your ground law’ which allows someone carrying a gun to shoot rather than retreat in a  threatening situation.  A law I find repugnant, as I said yesterday.  The idea that this law  was inapplicable in this case is something I largely picked up from the libertarian-constitutional originalist blog The Volokh Conspirary, as in this item by David Kopel.

However, this just in from The Guardian, a quote from Zimmerman’s lawyer arising from Zimmerman’s imminent return to prison after being found to have lied about his finances in relation to fixing bail (something I covered yesterday).

“If he was in on something that was not truthfully revealed to the judge, when there is a ‘stand your ground’ hearing, of course you’re going to second-guess him,” Hill said.

Oh dear, oh dear, serious seeming libertarian originalist blog sphere, you are just as careless as the serious seeming  leftish blog sphere.

The overall lesson is to never take anything on trust ever!  An obvious lesson, but one that needs to be learned over and over again.  I look at Volokh regularly, agreeing with some stuff but sceptical about what relates most to a nomocratic originalist agenda.  This raises issues about libertarianism, and what reservations I have about some forms of libertarianism, in  a post of two days ago.  A lot more coming from that post.

I hope not to post on Zimmerman-Martin case again, and will only do so if I find more evidence that I repeated misguided views, or if something really fascinating, and exciting, in issues of rule law and American politics emerges from the case.

Leave a Reply

